Lost your card?
DocStop
    
 
Home
Certificate status
Download certificates
         Root CA
         Citizen CA
         Foreigner CA
         Government
Documents
Contact & info
 

Digital certificates

Digital certificates are installed by the Belgian Government on electronic chip cards being eID, KidsID or foreigner cards. Certificates enable the holder of an electronic card to be remotely authenticated or to create a legal electronic signature.

Certificates are issued based on a specific information technology infrastructure, called a PKI (Public Key Infrastructure). Within this infrastructure operational entities (CA’s or Certification Authorities) are set up to issue the personalized certificates for the electronic chip cards.

The origin of a personalized certificate is assured by the signature of the issuing CA. The authenticity of every CA is on its turn assured by the signature of the Belgium root CA which issues the CA certificates. This creates an authenticity or certification chain between the Belgium Root CA from the Belgian Government and the personalized certificates placed on the electronic chip cards.

 Certification chain

   On highest level, root CA

      Belgium Root CA

  • Certification service provider (CSP):  FEDICT (Federale Department for ICT)

  • Certification practice statement:  CPS of the Belgium Root CA

   On underlying level, operational CA

      Citizen CA

      Foreigner CA

 © COPYRIGHT CERTIPOST nv. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

Carte perdue?
DocStop
    
 
Home
Statut certificats
Téléchargez certificats
         Root CA
         Citizen CA
         Foreigner CA
         Government
Documents
Contact & info
 

Certificats digitaux

Des certificats digitaux sont placés par le gouvernement belge sur les cartes à puce électroniques comme l’eID, le KidsID et les cartes pour étrangers. Grâce à ces certificats, un propriétaire d’une carte électronique peut s’authentifier à distance via Internet ou créer une signature électronique légale.

Les certificats délivrés font usage d’une infrastructure informatique spécifique appelée PKI (Public Key Infrastructure). Au sein de cette infrastructure, les entités opérationnelles (CA ou Certification Authorities), qui émettent les certificats personnalisés pour les cartes à puce électroniques, sont mises en place.

La provenance d’un certificat personnalisé est assurée de façon irréfutable par la signature du CA qui l’émet. L’authenticité du CA est à son tour assurée par la signature du Belgium Root CA qui émet les certificats des CA’s. De cette façon une chaîne d’authenticité ou de certification se crée entre le Belgium Root du gouvernement belge et les certificats personnalisés qui se trouvent sur les cartes à puce électroniques.

 Chaîne de certification

   Au niveau supérieur, CA root

      Belgium Root CA

  • Certificateur (CSP): FEDICT (Service Public Fédéral ICT)

  • Énoncé des pratiques de Certification:  CPS du Belgium Root CA

   Au niveau sous-jacent, CA opérationnel

      Citizen CA

      Foreigner CA

  • Certificateur (CSP):  Certipost sa

  • Énoncé des pratiques de Certification:  CPS du Foreigner CA

 © COPYRIGHT CERTIPOST nv. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.